Organs | Juror Bios | Repertoire | Academy | Academy Instructors | Competitors | Rules | Prize Winners

Atsuko Takano (Japan)

Atsuko Takano (b. 1984) studied piano with O. Uehara and organ with T. Akatsu-Miyamoto at the Ferris University in Japan, obtaining the Prix d’Excellence. While at the Ferris she studied at the Hochschule für Künste Bremen under the exchange program where she continued her organ studies with H. Vogel and H. Davidsson. Atsuko finished her exam with the highest marks. In 2009, she began further studies at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam with Jacques van Oortmerssen being awarded the prestigious Huygens Scholarship. During this period she performed for Dutch radio and also participated in several orchestral projects. She won the second prize in the International Arp Schnitger Organ Competition in Germany. Last summer she gave her master final recital at St. Bavokerk in Haarlem and obtained Cum Laude. She has played many concerts in Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, the Netherlands and the USA. Takano currently continues her doctoral studies at the University of Valencia in Spain.


Round I, Part I

Muffat — Toccata X from Apparatus musico-organisticus (1690)

J. S. Bach — “An Wasserflüssen Babylon,” BWV 653

J. S. Bach — Prelude and Fugue in D major, BWV 532

Round I, Part II

Weckmann — Toccata vel praeludium primi toni

Frescobaldi — Canzona terza from Il secondo libro di toccate, F. 3.15 and Capriccio sopra la Battaglia from Il primo libro, F. 2.31

Froberger — Fantasia sopra Ut, Re, Mi, Fa, So, La in C major, FbWV 201

Round II

Graun — Organ Concerto in G minor – 1. Animoso

Bruhns — “Nun komm der Heiden Heiland”

J. S. Bach — “Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter,” BWV 650

C. P. E. Bach — Fantasia and Fugue in C minor, Wq. 119/7


J. S. Bach — Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 548

J. S. Bach — “Erbarm dich mein, o Herre Gott,” BWV 721

Hindemith — Organ Sonata No. 1

Robert Schumann (1810–1856) — III. Mit sanften Stimmen from Sechs Fugen über den Namen: Bach, op. 60

Felix Mendelssohn (1809–1847) — Organ Sonata No. 1 in F minor, op. 65