Organs | Juror Bios | Repertoire | Academy | Academy Instructors | Competitors | Rules | Prize Winners

Kristofer Kiesel (Germany)

Born in 1987, Kristofer Kiesel began his piano studies at age seven, but soon found that he was more interested in the organ. He studied sacred music in Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany, where he received lessons in Conducting (Choral and Instrumental), Piano, Voice, Organ Literature and Improvisation, Harpsichord, Theory and Composition and played for masterclasses with Wolfgang Rübsam, Paolo Oreni, Heinrich Walther, Wolfgang Seifen, Loic Maille and Stefan Engels. He has also substituted for services in the Rottenburg Cathedral. In August 2012, he entered the Master of Music program in the Meadows School of the Arts at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, where he is an organ and harpsichord student of Larry Palmer. Mr. Kiesel has given recitals in Germany, Switzerland, France, Poland and the USA. In 2011 he was the youngest player and a semifinalist in the International Hermann Schroeder Competition in Germany.


Round I, Part I

J. S. Bach — Prelude in D major, BWV 532/i

Muffat — Toccata II from Apparatus musico-organisticus (1690)

J. S. Bach — “An Wasserflüssen Babylon,” BWV 653

J. S. Bach — Fugue in D major, BWV 532/ii

Round I, Part II

Froberger — Toccata in G minor, DTÖ XV

Weckmann — Variations on “Lucidor einss hütt der Schaf”

Frescobaldi — Toccata per l’elevatione from Fiori musicali, F. 12.?

Frescobaldi — Bergamasca from Fiori musicali, F. 12.46

Round II

Graun — Organ Concerto in G minor – 1. Animoso

Bruhns — “Nun komm der Heiden Heiland”

J. S. Bach — “Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter,” BWV 650

C. P. E. Bach — Fantasia and Fugue in C minor, Wq. 119/7


J. S. Bach — Prelude in E-flat major, BWV 552/i

Julius Reubke (1834–1858) — Trio in E-flat major

Hindemith — Organ Sonata No. 2

W. A. Mozart (1756–1791) — Fugue in G minor, K. 154

Mozart — Gigue in G major, K. 574

Robert Schumann (1810–1856) — II. Lebhaft from Sechs Fugen über den Namen: Bach, op. 60

J. S. Bach — Fugue in E-flat major, BWV 552/ii